Change a life

What can you buy with £1.20?

  • 2 kitkat chunkys
  • 500ml Bottle of coke
  • Single bus ticket in brighton
  • Cheeseburger from Macdonalds, or a McFlurry original
  • Renting a DVD from blockbusters
  • The Daily Telegraph

Or

You can use the money to change a life.

£1.20 per week (that’s £60/year) can send a child living in Pumwani slums to school.

Although primary education is supposedly ‘free’ in Kenya, stationary, books, exam fees, uniform, shoes, admission fees are not covered. At most schools you even have to ‘buy’ your desk before you can start. For this reason many children are denied the opportunity of school. Your £1.20 a week could pay for these things.

Why am I passionate about education?

I’m not going patronise you by listing the benefits of education. If you’ve had an education (which you will have had if you’re able to read this!) then you’ll be able to work out why it’s so important for establishing a firm foundation in life.

But for those who like statistics, I will give you this: The World Bank estimates that every year of schooling that a person has increases their future wage by a worldwide average of 10%. This average is even greater in developing countries.

And for those of you who want to hear from children who are already being sponsored, this is what they Zulea and Hellen think:

Zulea: ‘School is important because I want to be a doctor so I can help people’

Hellen: ‘I like being at school because my mother beats me when I’m home. At school I’m safe.’

If you’re interested in sponsoring a child, can make a one-off donation or just want more information, get in touch: philippa_wilkinson@yahoo.co.uk

In the words of Nelson Mandela: ‘Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.’

Leave a comment