The Next Steps

I think I’ve forgotten how to write.

With that said, this probably isn’t a paricularly inspiring blogpost but I want to fill you in on what I’ve been up to and what I’m doing next before it’s done. My last blogpost (with the false promise that more posts would come ‘soon’…sorry) told you I’d just finished a month teaching English back in UK. Since then I’ve had an almost 2 month break. Seeing people, laughing with friends, enjoying Brighton beach and going to weddings. Lots of weddings.

I also got a new job.

At the end of October I travel to South Sudan for 1 year, working as a Project Support Officer (PSO) with TF. New adventures ahead. I’ll be living on a TF base with around 15 other TF staff in Yuai, Jongelei state. AKA the middle of absolutely nowhere. Literally. To get to Yuai you take a teeny tiny single-propeller plane from Juba and fly over miles and miles of barren scrubland, so I’m told. Out of the base TF run relief programmes in food insecurity, nutrition and WASH (water, sanitation and hygiene) and my role is to work alongside the area coordinator supporting the running of these projects.

I’m excited about what lies ahead. Why I applied for the job and how I got it is a story for another day but I feel this is certainly the right thing for me for now and I’m looking forward to getting stuck in.

But first, I’m back to Kenya for a few weeks, flying on Sunday. Super excited about seeing friends again and enjoying Nairobi life.

People keep asking about this blog and I do plan to keep you all updated with semi-regular blog posts about life in the bush as and when I get inspiration and internet so do check back here every now and then.

8 thoughts on “The Next Steps

  1. Congratulations on your new job, Pippa! It sounds like it will be an incredible adventure. Do keep up the blog. You’re a great writer and you’re gaining unique insights into cultures and circumstances are inspiring as well as really challenging sometimes. xxx

  2. Hi Pippa,
    Have a safe flight back to Nairobi and enjoy seeing all your friends there. Then, congratulations on your new post and we pray it will all go well for you and those you work with and those you work to help. We’re sure it will be a steep learning curve but very worthwhile and we shall remember you in our thoughts and prayers. We’d love to hear your blogs so do keep them up.
    Love and prayers, Jean and Michael

  3. I am glad to hear of your new opportunity. Whenever challenges appear, I hope you would find fulfillment and growth, and have fun in the same stride, au sio! Congratulations, and God bless you on that journey ahead.

  4. Lovely to see you in the week and I guess you’re flying now. Enjoy time with friends in Nairobi and don’t forget to give Em and Mo a big hug from me.
    Looking forward to some photos of the next wedding, you in your bridesmaid’s dress, hope it all goes well.
    Thinking of you as you head for Sudan, every blessing in your new job and hope you get to see baby Parsons before you leave,
    big hugs, Sue x

  5. Hey lovely, hope you have arrived safely and all is well. It has been so much fun spending time with you over the last couple of months. Gonna miss you ridiculously but know that whilst you are out there you will be doing so many fantastic things and that you will have arrived ‘home’. Love you so very much Pipsqueak xxx

    • Hey Hannah, YES have arrived safe well and happy. Its good to be back! But was also so good to have quality time with you back in the UK. You’re pretty awesome! Love you lots and let’s keep in touch. X

  6. Hi Pippa, introducing myself – I’m a friend of Clare Field and travel to Juba beginning of November to work for MAF. Also saw your blog on the wall of the boiler room in Colchester so looked you up. Our paths may well cross. All the best with everything! Rob

    • Hi rob! Good to hear from you, thanks for getting in touch! Tearfund use maf a lot in south Sudan so I’m sure our paths will cross at some point! But maybe we can hook up while I’m in juba (a week or two at beginning of Nov) I think we arrive at similar times. Drop me a email when you’re in town: philippa_wilkinson@yahoo.co.uk

Leave a Reply

