Life: A New Year, A New Resolution

Been back in the Congo less than a week and it’s been hectic. I wrote this just after New Year’s in UK but not got round to editing it and I can’t see that I’ll have time to before it’s too late. So let me post it as it is: My New Year’s Resolution:

I can’t remember who, who someone once said to me that instead of making New Year’s resolutions (which, let’s be honest, never last longer that the second week of the year), they choose a word and focus on it for the year ahead. It might be, for example, peace, patience, or hope.

I haven’t made any New Year’s resolutions this year. But I do have a word that has stuck with me throughout the end of last year, and which I want to hold onto this year.

Life

2015 is to be a year of life. I want to live it to the fullest. I want to enjoy it to the fullest. I want to know what it means to really be and feel alive. Not that I don’t already, but this year I want to be aware of it more.

To understand what it means.

I have seen too much fighting and poverty. It’s too easy to become cynical. To believe the lie that life can be squashed and trodden into non existence.

I don’t want that lie covering me. I want to appreciate life in every sense. Not just the adventures and good times, but to find life in every situation: even the areas of darkness. To never take it for granted.

I want to be it, to live it, to breathe it personally. I want to speak it into areas where maybe it’s been stolen or smothered.

And how shall I do that? I shall start by seeking the positive in every situation. By being thankful, by living simply and by chasing goodness and kindness.

So here’s to 2015. The year of life.

One thought on “Life: A New Year, A New Resolution

  1. Good news moto pips. I think we could all do with being more thankful for life, often its not until its unde treat that we appreciate how precious our life is & how blessed we are in it.

Leave a Reply

