His legs splayed out at a funny angle, like a puppet whose string has been pulled too far. The pool of red blood slowly seeped into the earth. Dust to dust. The crowd gathered round in silent shock, the only noise coming from wailing sirens in the distance.

My boss told me about his brother who died the same way. Knocked off his bike on busy Nairobi roads. Just the other day my colleague told me about a little girl who was knocked down by a teenager driving, and was killed instantly, just last weekend. My driver told me about his cousin who died suddenly yesterday, just 30 years, after complaining of chest problems.

It’s funny how life can be snuffed out in a matter of seconds. One minute you’re there and the next you’re…not. It’s funny how often we take waking each morning for granted. Assuming we’re invincible. Assuming we were made for this world only. It’s funny how we associate death with old age and forget that it can find us at any time.

It’s funny… except it’s not really funny at all.

One thought on “

  1. I can see where you are coming from Pippa. We all use that phrase at the start of our reactions. But yes life can end very quickly and we have no idea why so we can continue doing our best to live for ourselves and others and not be over concerned when it will come or how it will come. I have been in that transitional situation myself but for me I have had Father God with me and with him in control of my life I can say with all honesty that for me to live is Christ and to die is Christ. So far I can only come to the one conclusion and that he has more to do for Him.

Leave a Reply

